This is one of the last sentences Jesus speaks to His disciples before he ascends into heaven. The disciples had to be feeling pretty emotional in this moment. I mean… this guy just performed miracle after miracle, was crucified, buried, and rose from the dead! I would have a few questions for Jesus like, “Hey.. uhm.. Jesus.. what just happened?! Can you explain all of this a little better for us? Could you let us know your plan now?

Jesus amidst the impatience and questions gives us this verse, “The Father alone has the authority to set those dates and times, and they are not for you to know.” Uhm what?! Come on Jesus we have been faithful! We have followed you all this time. Can you just give us a hint at least. Pretty please?

Jesus didn’t want to spoil the surprise. Jesus doesn’t want to spoil the surprise He has for your life either. It’s hard following Jesus sometimes because we aren’t sure where He will take us. I believe following Jesus can also be fun and exciting!

I couldn’t have ever imagined being where I am right now. I’m sure you feel the same way. There have been highs and there have most definitely been lows. Jesus doesn’t promise a perfect future, but He does promise to be with you in the future. He promises to be with you right now. I know too that He has been with you all along.

Reminding ourselves of this is key. Our nature is to feel like we have to be in control. It is what the world tells us. Our schedules, our time, our job, our relationships, and our future are all things we try to control and get a handle on. Often times they don’t turn out how we plan.

We can, however, get clarity on these things. How? Spending time with Jesus. I notice a sense of wandering and lostness when I am not spending time with Jesus. On the other hand, when I am in His word, talking to Jesus, and worshiping Him; I find a sense of peace. My vision becomes more clear each day I draw near to Him.

Time is a tricky thing, as is the future. If you are struggling at all or want clarity or comfort in these things, ask Jesus. Ask Him to reveal your hopes and dreams. I won’t promise you will get an audible answer or a five step process to follow. I will promise He will open your eyes to things you haven’t seen before.

Take some time today to talk with Jesus. Any questions or worries you have, bring them to His feet. If He doesn’t answer, try again later, and again, and again.

Jesus is worth following. He is worth our time. Especially during uncertain times in our life. Jesus is a source of life that will never leave us.

Dear Lord, thank you for today and the promise of joy You have given us. Help us to come to you when things don’t make sense. Help us to find peace right now, in this moment. We trust You and we love You. Amen.

Have a great day!

C. Ly


Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started